Sceptimum

One sceptical mother (of two)

Baby’s first mosh pit

Last week I wrote about how I suspected I was brewing up a budding Keith Prodigy in my uterus.

And yesterday I spent about 8 hours at Soundwave watching ALL the rock and metal, including some light moshing to a 2 hour Metallica set.

Interestingly, while most of the pregnancy guides are careful to ban any form of fun on the grounds that no one knows if it’s dangerous but it *could* be so best not to (seriously, I have seen this argument applied to everything from riding a bike to jogging to dying your damned hair) not one mentioned metal concerts.

And, to be honest, I would have completely ignored them if they did. I stayed back from the crush, stayed hydrated and my worst injury of the evening was inflicted by my own steel-capped boots rubbing the hell out of my ankle. Some people stay at home knitting baby booties. Some like to attend pre-natal yoga classes. Others like to go to gigs while they still can and don’t have a small child they need to take care of. More power to all of them, as long as they are not judgemental arse-bags who try to ram their uninformed opinions down other’s throats in the guide of “medical advice”.

So yes, baby’s first concert was in utero at Metallica (sadly, not a Nirvana gig, appropriate and all as that would have been). At this rate, my kid is going to rebel by listening exclusively to manufactured kiddy-pop and joining a religion that bans dancing. But not until they are at least teens, oh no. I intend to inform them that no one knows for sure but it’s possible that crappy manufactured pop makes you deaf and religion gives you anal warts. 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Baby’s first mosh pit

  1. As a mother, a massive part of your responsibility is to teach your kids good taste in music. Mission Accomplished! 🙂

  2. That’s pretty hilarious. It’s a gateway CD to metal!

    I am hoping to avoid all fecking baby shower related activities etc. They bore the ever-living fuck out of me normally and I don’t imagine sitting though one where I am fat, uncomfortable and the centre of attention would make me feel better about them.

    I am thinking of throwing a few “last chance to do an adult dinner or go dancing (for a bit)” parties.

Leave a Reply

